Shot weight?

A place to discuss calibers, ammunition, and reloading

Shot weight?

Postby Minnesnotashooter on Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:01 am

I'm new to shotshell reloading and I've noticed that to pick the right shot bushing I need to know the weight of my shot, but I don't know the weight of the shot I want to buy its #8 lead magnum if that helps.

Thanks to anyone that replies

-Minnesnotashooter
Minnesnotashooter

Re: Shot weight?

Postby Sigfan220 on Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:17 am

Did you buy the Lee then?? MEC's have a bar for each weight and bushings for the powder. Get a MEC if you haven't bought anything yet.

I would think Lee would be smart enough to label the bushings 7/8, 1 , 1 1/8 etc like MEC. But who knows.

The density of chill vs magnum isn't enough to require new bushings. At least on the MEC's it one size fits all for the shot charge so you may not get exactly 1 1/8 oz or whatever.
Sigfan220

Postby Rip Van Winkle on Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:18 am

What brand of loader are you using? They should have a bushing chart to tell you.
I will never apologize for being an American.
Post 435 Gun Club
North Star Rifle Club
cmpofficer@post435gunclub.org
48 down, Still in the hunt for a heavy!
President's Hundred (#48 2018)
Certified NRA RSO
Rip Van Winkle

Location: Unfashionable end of the western spiral arm, Galaxy Milky Way

Postby LarryFlew on Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:36 am

shot weight is the weight you want to load like 1oz trap loads, 1.5 oz hunting load etc. REALLY need to be buying and reading the books b4 attempting anything!!
Last edited by LarryFlew on Wed Jul 31, 2013 10:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
If you're having second thoughts you're two ahead of most Democrats
LarryFlew

Location: Hamburg, MN - CZ fan - Class of 66 - USAF 66-70 - NRA life since 1970

Postby Minnesnotashooter on Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:43 am

Sigfan220 wrote:Did you buy the Lee then?? MEC's have a bar for each weight and bushings for the powder. Get a MEC if you haven't bought anything yet.