Advice on working to a safe load for .50AE 400grain

A place to discuss calibers, ammunition, and reloading

Advice on working to a safe load for .50AE 400grain

Postby Swen on Fri Jan 17, 2014 12:33 pm

Hello fellow gun folks,

First post outside the intro thread.

While I do have BigDog58 and qualcorp to help me out some here and will most likely be connecting with OldmanFCSA soon, I would still like to throw this out there to all and any who load .50AE or similar calibers.

I have tons of Winchester platinum tip 400 grain that I would like to load. I know it can be done but I have no load data for this bullet or weight and cannot find any online. Tyrone Umlauf whom owns Shooting Sports in Little Falls has some .50AE customers who shoot these 400 grains with great results and they have load data but he has been unable to get me any so far. Being I'm new to this game I'm not going to work a load when I have only data for 350 grain in a similar type of hollowpoint bullet, as my main concern starting out is safety.

I have my rcbs dies all setup on my lee classic 4 turret, de-primer/re-sizer--belling--and two taper seater/crimp dies one to seat and the second to crimp. I only ran two dummy rounds through(no primer or powder) to test out dies and do basic settings, no real clue what my OAL needs to be with this size of bullet or what amount of H110 I need to start with.

Just want to get overall advice whether detailed or not about the procedure to work a load without having the exact load info for this bullet and weight.

Winchester platinum tip 400 grain:
0.901 length 0.501 diameter

Starline Brass:
1.281 case length 0.539 outside base diameter 0.495 inside mouth diameter 0.522 outside mouth diameter