.45-70 reloads for handguns?

A place to discuss calibers, ammunition, and reloading

.45-70 reloads for handguns?

Postby Holland&Holland on Mon Jan 12, 2009 2:44 pm

Just wondering if anyone in this forum has come accross any reliable recipes on loading the venerable .45-70 for handgun applications. With the T/C having been available in this chambering for several years one would think that someone has worked this one out. All the data I have found is for rifle loads which work fine of course but you loose so much unburned powder due to the shorter barrel length. I am thinking if someone has worked with fasterburning pistol powders in this load that might deliver improved velocity with heavy hardcast lead bullets (405 or 420 gr). I am by no means an expert in the reloading arts but have dabbled a bit over the years.
Holland&Holland

Re: .45-70 reloads for handguns?

Postby ex-LT on Mon Jan 12, 2009 3:11 pm

Holland&Holland wrote:Just wondering if anyone in this forum has come accross any reliable recipes on loading the venerable .45-70 for handgun applications. With the T/C having been available in this chambering for several years one would think that someone has worked this one out. All the data I have found is for rifle loads which work fine of course but you loose so much unburned powder due to the shorter barrel length. I am thinking if someone has worked with fasterburning pistol powders in this load that might deliver improved velocity with heavy hardcast lead bullets (405 or 420 gr). I am by no means an expert in the reloading arts but have dabbled a bit over the years.

I just happen to have the Lyman manual here at my desk. Has a whole section of reloading data dedicated to the T/C Contender, one page of which is for the .45-70. If I can get my scanner to work (haven't had much luck with it lately), I may be able to help you out.
DNR Certified Firearms Safety Instructor
NRA Certified Range Safety Officer