Best separator for steel-pin media after tumbling?

A place to discuss calibers, ammunition, and reloading

Best separator for steel-pin media after tumbling?

Postby Bergie on Sun Aug 19, 2018 9:26 am

I'm new to reloading, so after trying to clean a bunch of brass in a standard corn cob media -and not being satisfied with the results- I decided to go with a tumbler/pin/lemi solution. But here's my question- Is a standard tumbler the best separator for the brass after it's been tumbled in the solution? Seems like it'd be kind of a mess, but maybe no more than a regular separator(?). The second part would then be- Any thoughts on a 'best' separator?
Bergie

Re: Best separator for steel-pin media after tumbling?

Postby Scratch on Sun Aug 19, 2018 10:37 am

I use a plastic media separator that looks just like this one except blue:
https://ads.midwayusa.com/product/176956/rcbs-rotary-case-and-media-separator?utm_medium=shopping&utm_source=google&utm_campaign=Reloading+-+Metallic+Reloading+Equipment+(Not+Presses)&utm_content=176956&cm_mmc=pf_ci_google-_-Reloading+-+Metallic+Reloading+Equipment+(Not+Presses)-_-RCBS-_-176956&gclid=Cj0KCQjwquTbBRCSARIsADzW88wVEB_PV_VzqPc8M7a5yZJ-0z-pG7o2cb3qm2_ljgG99OT8eAF4IscaAoEaEALw_wcB

I cant remember who makes it, but it looks and works just like the one above. I do it right next to my kitchen sink. I do not do it in a bucket, but I could see if you had multiple buckets where it might work.
01 FFL in Hudson Wisconsin
Scratch

Postby Ghost on Sun Aug 19, 2018 11:54 am

Scratch wrote:I use a plastic media separator that looks just like this one except blue: