Inexpensive bullet source?

A place to discuss calibers, ammunition, and reloading

Postby Bitter Bastard on Fri Jul 26, 2019 2:06 pm

What is everyone's top go-to places for inexpensive bullets? I'm still relatively new to reloading and don't really have a good sense yet on what companies have better pricing than others. I'm pretty well set with primers, powder, and brass, so bullets are really my only focus now.

I only shoot/reload jacketed bullets - FMJ 9mm, FMJ .45 ACP, and usually like to go with some sort of JHP for .38, .357, and .44 magnum. Will get into rifle rounds pretty soon as well. Looking at quantities from 100 to 1,000 or so at a time. I can't afford to buy 10,000 at once to save that last little bit with a bulk buy, unfortunately.

I've looked at Midway and Brownell's and they seem pretty comparable in pricing if you wait for free shipping sales. Where else should I be looking?

Thanks,

Bitter Bastard
Bitter Bastard

Re: Inexpensive bullet source?

Postby Jackpine Savage on Fri Jul 26, 2019 2:31 pm

For 9mm my go to bullet is 124gr JHP from https://www.precisiondelta.com/ . If you order 2000 the price goes down to $89 per 1,000 and free shipping. They just ran a sale for the 4th where the price went down to $84.

Rocky mountain reloading has some good prices too.
Jackpine Savage

Postby Rip Van Winkle on Fri Jul 26, 2019 3:56 pm

I will never apologize for being an American.
Post 435 Gun Club
North Star Rifle Club
cmpofficer@post435gunclub.org
48 down, Still in the hunt for a heavy!
President's Hundred (#48 2018)
Certified NRA RSO
Rip Van Winkle

Location: Unfashionable end of the western spiral arm, Galaxy Milky Way

Postby BigDog58 on Fri Jul 26, 2019 4:34 pm

This is one of the best & cheapest I've found. They give great service and fast shipments

https://www.rmrbullets.com/product-category/bullets-for-reloading/