question about dies

A place to discuss calibers, ammunition, and reloading

question about dies

Postby hdgirl1340 on Wed Mar 11, 2009 6:48 pm

I bought a set of old Hornady Durachorme Dies in 44mag/spec I bought these at the gunstop used and John said the sizing die is carbide because he showed me where it is stamped "carbide" on the side of the die. Upon further inspection when i got home it appeared the other dies didnt look like anything was pressed into them and they didnt say carbide on them. I mean the die that sets the bullet and crimps doesnt look like it's carbide at all. My question is. Do carbide die sets usually only have the sizing/decapping die in carbide and the other 2 dies are steel? I won't be using the die that bells the brass since i'm using them in a dillon 550. I'm new to all this so forgive my ignorance. thanks
hdgirl1340

Re: question about dies

Postby Sigfan220 on Wed Mar 11, 2009 7:53 pm

For Hornady dies only the sizing die is carbide. Lee makes a carbide crimp die that sizes after the bullet is seated, I have these in 9mm and 45. You should be able to see the carbide insert if you flip the die over. It just looks like a dark doughnut shape pressed into the die.
Sigfan220

Postby 1911fan on Wed Mar 11, 2009 8:35 pm

and you only need the carbide for the sizing operation. steel is "sticky" to brass under pressure and you get stuck cases, Carbide is not sticky, and the cases slide in and out with no need for Lube which saves a LOT of time and mess.
1911fan

Postby hdgirl1340 on Wed Mar 11, 2009 8:39 pm

So you don't need carbide on the die that seats the bullet and crimps? am i supposed to lube anything during this operation or do i need to get a carbide crimping die?
hdgirl1340

Postby Einthoven's Triangle on Wed Mar 11, 2009 8:50 pm

You only need carbide sizer die.
You should have gotten a an expander die, useless in a Dillon.
You should have gotten a combo seater/ crimp die.