squirrel hunting

Discuss all of the great hunting opportunities in Minnesota

squirrel hunting

Postby ker2222 on Tue Aug 20, 2013 10:25 am

I've been a long time reader and lurker here, but this is my first post. I am a member of the Oakdale Gun Club, I enjoy precision shooting and comps, I hunt (although mostly in south dakota) and I am a school teacher.

I have a nephew coming of an age where I would like to get him outdoors more and into hunting. I am hoping you guys can give me some heads up on what public areas are legal for small game hunting--especially squirrels. I am not expecting anyone to give up there honeyholes, but I am having a hard time figuring out what public lands are opening to hunting. I am looking for anyting within an hour or two or three of the cities

thanks!
ker2222

Re: squirrel hunting

Postby Sigfan220 on Tue Aug 20, 2013 10:36 am

WMA, WPA, State Forest, County Land and that's just the start. You'll probably want to drive a ways from the cities to get on some good ground. There are places within 30 minutes but they get pounded pretty hard. I think it's worth the drive to go another hour or so.

Read the rule book, each type of land has it's own specific rules. Some require steel shot in shotguns , or no 22's allowed(if they are close to the cities).

The DNR has some pretty nice maps, give them a call. You may need to drive to St Paul to pick them up.
Sigfan220

Postby Heffay on Tue Aug 20, 2013 10:54 am

Might as well get rabbits too! Squirrels for gravy, rabbits for something to put the gravy on. You can pretend you're Canadians, because they'll put gravy on ANYTHING!
To the two forum members who have used lines from my posts as their signatures, can't you quote Jesse Ventura or some other great Minnesotan instead of stealing mine? - LePetomane
Heffay

Postby Anokamnman on Sat Sep 21, 2013 4:15 am

Chengwatana state forest. It's an hour north. Tons of wooded land. Plenty of squirrels.