Competition Shooting

Local shooting clubs and leagues

Competition Shooting

Postby FirearmFan on Wed Feb 18, 2009 4:05 pm

I've been wanting to get into competition shooting for a while now and this year I want to start. I've been shooting for years but I've never participated in any competitive shooting event so I'm a rookie in this field. I plan on going to the steel shoots to get a feel for everything but I also want to get involved in more. There are so many different associations to choose from (IDPA, USPSA, GSSF, CAS/SASS, 3-gun) that I'm not sure what would be the best route to go. It looks like IDPA has a pretty big following in Minnesota so I'm thinking that may be my best bet. I'm pretty much just looking for advice, suggestions, experiences, or words of wisdom from experienced competion shooters. Thanks
FirearmFan

Re: Competition Shooting

Postby jac714 on Wed Feb 18, 2009 4:11 pm

I am a IDPA guy so take this for what it is worth.

IDPA is an attempt to reproduce under controlled conditions some of the possible scenarios you might run into while carrying as a civilian. It is defensive in nature and involves less running and usually has a lower round count per match.

IPSC (or USPSA) is more of an offensive type of shooting, you are running and gunning and usually shoot more per match.

One of the local IDPA clubs (to which I belong and am an active member) is Twin Cities IDPA, LLC. http://WWW.twincitiesidpa.com

Our indoor schedule is pretty full and it is hard to shoot with us during the winter (due to demand for slots in the matches) but during the summer it is a matter of showing up after you are approved to shoot with us.

If youo have any questions after checking out the website let em know.

LAter
"The 1911 was the design given by God to us through John M. Browning that represents the epitome of what a killing tool needs to be. It was true in 1911 and is true now."

IFIA MCPPA Instructor
DNR FAS Instructor
jac714