Murderer Saved By Bureaucracy

Firearms related political discussion forum

Murderer Saved By Bureaucracy

Postby GregM on Sun Nov 18, 2007 7:10 am

TEXAS DEATH ROW INMATE WILLING TO DIE, BUT CAN'T
November 18, 2007

LIVINGSTON, Texas (AP) — The first letter, neatly handwritten on lined paper, arrived nearly a year and a half ago at the federal courthouse in Dallas with a simple address: U.S. District Clerk's Office.
"I am a college graduate and have no delusions what will occur as an end result of these proceedings," death row inmate Michael Rodriguez wrote in the first of a series of notes to the courthouse.

Rodriguez, one of the notorious Texas Seven, a group of inmates who escaped from state prison in 2000 and killed a police officer while on the lam, has dropped his appeals and wants to die.

He can't.

A federal judge signed off on Rodriguez's request on Sept. 27, two days after the U.S. Supreme Court decided to review the constitutionality of lethal injection in a Kentucky case. But now a state judge won't set an execution date for Rodriguez until after the high court rules on the Kentucky case.

"We probably won't be able to set the date for the first time until probably late next year at the earliest, even though he has volunteered and is otherwise good to go," prosecutor Lisa Smith said.

Rodriguez and six other inmates overpowered workers at a southern Texas prison on Dec. 13, 2000. They took the workers' clothes, grabbed 16 guns from the prison armory and fled in a stolen truck.

On Christmas Eve, while robbing a sporting-goods store in a Dallas suburb, they shot Officer Aubrey Hawkins 11 times. Police caught up with the gang a month later in Colorado.

Because of publicity surrounding the case, Rodriguez's murder trial was moved 100 miles northeast of Dallas to Franklin County, where a jury sent him to death row in May 2002 for his role in Officer Hawkins' slaying. Rodriguez admitted pulling the 29-year-old officer from his patrol car.