cantilevered AR scope rings

Holsters, lights, or any kind of accessory

Postby yukonjasper on Wed Oct 07, 2015 10:09 am

So, I've just acquired my first AR and intend to use it for predator hunting (Bushmaster Predator). I have a Nikon Buckmaster scope to put on it and have been researching scope rings. I'm noticing a trend out there that uses a cantilevered scope mount/ring combo that allows you to push the scope out over the barrel, I assume, to provide eye relief. I'm heading out this weekend to do some duck/pheasant hunting out west and intend to bring some rifles to sight in for deer season and hopefully mount the scope and sight it in. I need the Rings to do that. I will be purchasing in the next 2-3 days.

Should I be looking at the Cantilevered design? Any reasonably priced (sub $100) suggestions? should I consider spending more and why?

Am I OK buying this at a big box retail or is there a better source? I will likely hit Cabela's in Rogers on the way out of town on Friday AM and will have access to Goose Hill and Fleet Farm in Alexandria.

Any thoughts are welcome. Thank you.
Deo Adjuvante Non Timendum - (with the help of God there is nothing to be afraid of)
Spectamur Agendo - (We are proven by our actions)
Non Ducor, Duco - (I am not led, I lead)
NRA Life Member
yukonjasper

Re: cantilevered AR scope rings

Postby shooter115 on Wed Oct 07, 2015 10:44 am

There are two big variables there, including the eye relief of the scope and your shooting style. Being your first AR, the latter is probably undetermined as of yet.

In the sub $100 mark, I've had really good luck with the ultralight mount from Aero Precision. I've got one on my lightweight 3gun rifle and in 2 years of pretty harsh abuse I haven't taken the scope caps off once.

http://aeroprecisionusa.com/scope-mounts.html
shooter115

Postby LumberZach on Wed Oct 07, 2015 11:19 am