Shotgun shell catchers?

Holsters, lights, or any kind of accessory

Shotgun shell catchers?

Postby Holland&Holland on Tue Mar 08, 2016 8:15 am

Anybody using a shell catcher on their semi-auto for trap? Youngest starts spring trap at school in a couple of weeks and the coach wants semi-autos with a shell catcher installed or use rubber bands. Looks like Cabela's has the Birchwood Casey wire looking thingie. Anyone use one? Does it work?

He knows his gun well but it does not malfunction so clearing malfunctions is not something he has a lot of experience at so I do not want to introduce something that does not work well with the gun. (I know I should induce some for training but time and kids...)

Shotgun is a Stoeger M3000. And yes whatever we get we will try out a round with this weekend.

Thanks
Holland&Holland

Re: Shotgun shell catchers?

Postby shooter115 on Tue Mar 08, 2016 9:16 am

I've been using a Winchester Super X2 for about the last 8 years for trap and use the same Birchwood shell deflector you speak of. It works, it is not 100% consistent, some shells fall on the ground and some get bounced back into the reciever. That said, it does stop the shells from hitting the guy on your right which is a must. Nothing more annoying than trying to focus on your shot while getting pelted with someone else's ejected hulls.
shooter115

Postby old guy on Tue Mar 08, 2016 9:19 am

I've used them for several years on my 1100 Rems, I had one of the stick on wire one on one gun for along time, placement and adjustment is important with that one, a little bending of the spring may be nessesary.
None work 100% but the last time I took my Grandson out for trap we both shot 3 rounds (150 shots) with 1100s and I don't think we dropped 1 case.

John
old guy

Postby Holland&Holland on Tue Mar 08, 2016 4:15 pm

Follow up question. What choke do most seem to use for trap? I know one needs to pattern to know how a particular choke is functioning but in general.