Different perspective on training?

Gun related chat that doesn't fit in another forum

Different perspective on training?

Postby homerange on Tue Jan 01, 2013 9:09 pm

I am relatively new to shooting, having acquired my first rifle 3 years ago and first handgun this year. I have taken a few different training courses: 2-day workshop format, conceal carry, and one:one. I have been continuously seeking out training options, talking to various instructors, but have been overall disappointed with the options, particularly for beginners like myself.

What I see out there is basically two options when it comes to gun training:
1) One-day classes, usually geared for introductory level topics
2) Multi-day workshops, costing thousands of dollars plus ammo plus travel

With both formats, there is no sustained training--it's a one time thing. That is a huge disadvantage.

On the other hand, I hold a second-degree black belt in Tae Kwon Do. My training consisted of several years of 2-3 practice sessions each week with an expert instructor. New techniques were introduced alongside old techniques being continuously practiced. We had belts (white, yellow, green...) corresponding to the proficiency achieved in certain aspects of the martial art. We studied as a group but it was ultimately up to the instructor to determine one's readiness to advance to higher levels. I paid handsomely for this training, fwiw, and it was well worth it.

I am wondering, why can't I find this equivalent in firearms training? Why can't I find any sustained training classes with predetermined ciriculum that lasts months (or years), not hours? As for me, martial arts training format was extremely effective, and even though I haven't entered a dojo in several years, my defensive techniques are still ever-present and can be relied upon if need be.

Appreciate your feedback.
homerange

Re: Different perspective on training?

Postby river_boater on Tue Jan 01, 2013 9:12 pm