How to begin? I am a total newbie

Gun related chat that doesn't fit in another forum

How to begin? I am a total newbie

Postby Being on Sat Nov 23, 2013 1:18 pm

Hi guys,
I came here today to ask you good people for help.
Consider me a total newbie to guns and gun laws. I want to purchase a hand gun and a hunting rifle. I am an adult, citizen, live in the TC area.

What are the steps involved (in order) ? (training, licensing, purchasing a gun, etc). How long does the training take, what else should I know about legally purchasing and keeping these for years to come.

Thank you
Being

Re: How to begin? I am a total newbie

Postby Hmac on Sat Nov 23, 2013 1:28 pm

I recommend a basic pistol course and basic rifle course so you can understand the various types of firearms. You will find the choices of firearm type, model, and caliber to be dizzying without guidance, and the advice you get on an internet gun forum will vary widely based on the poster's most recent favorite firearm. Check out various community colleges for courses, or check out the NRA's website. Alternatively, go into a gun store and ask about courses. Be careful about the advice you get on firearms at such a store. While it's not universally true, some of the most amazing misinformation possible can be had at your local gun store.

I wouldn't necessarily recommend starting with a permit-to-carry course, since you really don't even know what you will want to be carrying. Once you're confident in your understanding of the firearms options, you'll be able to buy one that is likely to suit you and your needs. THEN you can take a PTC course to learn the laws, and after that you can start taking defensive pistol courses so that you can learn how use a firearm to defend yourself.
Hmac

Postby Seismic Sam on Sat Nov 23, 2013 1:46 pm

Well, thank you for asking the right question first!!