Any Colt black powder experts on here?

Gun related chat that doesn't fit in another forum

Any Colt black powder experts on here?

Postby justinvan on Sat Dec 27, 2014 8:52 pm

Helping clean up an estate and have a colt black powder revolver (1847 walker signature series i think) that i need help identifying and puttin a value to. Any help, tips, or pointers appreciated.
justinvan

Re: Any Colt black powder experts on here?

Postby andrewP on Sun Dec 28, 2014 2:47 am

Well, I have no knowledge to offer on the subject, but I would suggest you post some photos, preferably including close-ups of any markings that might be used to identify it, and illustrating the condition. I expect someone will be able to help you out if you do that.
andrewP

Postby tenmilmag on Sun Dec 28, 2014 5:23 am

My understanding is Colt may be headed for default. Therefore you should get rid of that before it is totally worthless no matter what condition. I bid a hundred bucks :)
tenmilmag

Postby Molasses on Sun Dec 28, 2014 6:49 am

I'm no expert.

I've seen people refer to at least some of the models Colt offered in the signature series as "3rd Generation". The explanation apparently being that the originals were 1st Gen, the repros they offered in the 1970s were 2nd Gen and then these signature series repros from the '90s, IIRC. Personally, I never took too much interest in them as my understanding was that they were just importing parts from the foreign makers, assembling them here with Colt markings and charging a premium.