About J.R.

Gun related chat that doesn't fit in another forum

About J.R.

Postby Pat on Mon May 21, 2018 10:05 pm

This well thought out note is from a good friend of mine. He discusses the situation I was also involved with and was told the same by a Minneapolis police captain.

“A lot of people will ask me.. “You must like guns huh?”

My answer is not really what they would expect, considering what I do for a living. My answer is often something along the lines of, No, I have no affection for guns of any kind, I appreciate them for the machines that they are and have a healthy respect for them.

Guns are nothing more than tools, like a hammer, or a screw driver to me. There are lots of guns out there, just like golf clubs, there is one for every purpose. My guns have never hurt anyone…. They must be lazy…

I know that gun violence is a problem we are all taking about this week, and for good reason, but let’s look at that statement “Gun Violence…. “

Guns in and of themselves are not violent, they are tools like a hammer, or a screw driver… people commit violence, plain and simple. This country does not have a gun problem, we have a violence problem. Guns are just the simple “scapegoat.” How many times do we have to discuss this? Same conversation over and over… additionally, we don’t do a good job with mental health in this country either… and well see something say something isn’t working too well either.. Those issues need serious repair.

School shootings are terrible, and I am NOT making light of the situation, but when are we going to learn? We seem to make the same mistakes over and over. Columbine should have been the wake up call… outrage upon outrage.. and still nothing… Schools are WIDE OPEN… we are so worried about political correctness, we can accomplish NOTHING.