An account worth reading

Gun related chat that doesn't fit in another forum

An account worth reading

Postby jdege on Thu Apr 04, 2019 10:42 pm

I ran across this on another forum:

https://www.quora.com/If-we-don-t-own-a-gun-and-someone-is-breaking-through-the-front-door-what-is-our-best-course-of-action/answers/131650128?ch=10&share=0f5b242a&srid=zLXC

Here’s a personal experience…

I’m a lawyer and a woman, and when I was in law school I interned one summer at a large city DA’s office. Naturally, I was in contact with a lot of criminals, and being young and somewhat naive, I always tried to be friendly to them.

One was a twenty-something gang member that was about to go to trial, and I remember wishing him good luck. He looks me over and says something about maybe getting together if he manages to beat the charges. It made me nervous, but I remember thinking that it was late in the summer and I was about to pack up and head back to school in a few weeks, so I didn’t worry too much about him.

A few days later, the thug calls the DA’s office to speak with me and I find out that he was arrested on a minor charge and released as part of a plea deal. At first, I just wouldn’t take his call, but he kept calling and calling, and finally I made the mistake of inadvertently picking up the phone and it was him. I politely tried to tell him I was leaving soon and that I just was too busy for socializing, and from the tone of his voice, I could tell he was insulted. I remember every word of his chilling response to this day: “aw, but you’re so pretty - you can’t keep that all to yourself…maybe I should come visit you with some of my boys one night and you’ll change your mind”.

[...]

And it goes on from there.
jdege

Re: An account worth reading

Postby hammAR on Fri Apr 05, 2019 9:26 am

Some day, probably too late, people will wake up and realize that there are genuine bad people out there................................ :hammer: