Tips for first handgun purchase

A place for women to discuss firearms and other issues specific to women.
Forum rules
Refrain from snide comments, inside jokes, thread drift, and personal attacks or you may lose your posting privileges.

Aggressively moderated

Tips for first handgun purchase

Postby Tickledpink on Wed Nov 10, 2010 8:44 pm

I am looking for some real tips on how to make my first handgun purchase. Just to clarify a few things...this is my first purchase but not my first gun. I was lucky enough to be given a 9mm for my birthday that I really enjoy shooting. I also have some decent experience with the S&W 625. I am not afraid of trying anything that goes bang. I do not enjoy small guns.

I am a noob but not a super noob. I have taken the PTC class but do not have the permit yet due to lack of cash flow. I would like to have a carry gun but am not sure that the 9mm would be enough. I would like to put on my big girl pants and purchase a gun on my own and really make sure I get what I like and I get something that I will be super comfortable using on regular basis.

I know where I can go to purchase one; I am very familiar with Bill's South and Gun Stop. The part that I am not familiar with is what questions to ask. I know what feels good in my hand; the 9mm feels much more comfortable in my hands then the 625. I am a woman and have smaller hands. I know that grips are interchangeable. When it comes to ammo, loads and whatnot that is where my eye glaze and I get the deer in the head lights feeling.

What questions do I ask other then does it go bang? Is there etiquette for purchasing? How do I make myself not look like a complete idiot?

Thanks to everyone who already PM'd me offering help!
Tickledpink

Re: Tips for first handgun purchase

Postby jac714 on Wed Nov 10, 2010 8:57 pm