Registering an NFA weapon [inc Suppressors] via trust

Registering an NFA weapon [inc Suppressors] via trust

Postby jshuberg on Tue Dec 11, 2012 11:18 am

[EDIT - updated and edited since suppressors have been legalized in MN. The BATFE considers a suppressor to be a firearm as far as the paperwork goes, so is considered an NFA weapon anywhere the term is used below]

I am not a lawyer, and if you have any legal questions concerning owning NFA weapons or creating an NFA trust, you should contact an attorney or the BATFE. The following is my experience having gone through the process numerous times.

Here in MN, we are limited by what NFA weapons we can own by state as well as federal law. We can only have machine guns manufactured prior to 1986 *and* are on the curio relic list. Suppressors and short barrel shotguns are illegal by state law, as are some destructive devices. Suppressors are now legal to own in MN as of July 1, 2015! SBRs are perfectly fine. Class 2 manufacturers and class 3 dealers are exempt from these laws, but have additional federal regulations they need to comply with. For the sake of simplicity, the below assumes the person registering an NFA weapon is not a class 2/3, law enforcement, or military procurement office.

First off, there are 3 types of entities that can own NFA weapons - individuals, corporations, and trusts. There are 2 BATFE forms that are used to register an NFA weapon. The original manufacturer of an NFA weapon registers it on a BATFE form 1, and ownership transfers are registered on a form 4. If you are manufacturing an SBR you will do so on a form 1. If you are purchasing an SBR or suppressor, you will do so on a form 4.