Crappy Sightron Scopes

Discussion of rifles, shotguns, and muzzleloaders

Crappy Sightron Scopes

Postby samginko on Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:17 pm

FNAR heavy 20" barrel, Burris signature Z, Sightron SII Big Sky 3.5-10X42

I have been chasing the zero for six months. First I thought the rings were the problem (Burris signature Z), but I fixed the slipping problem with some rubber cement. Next, I thought the base was loose. So, I bedded the rail and retorqued with locktite. Ammo, I tried WRA, PRVI, Remington match, FGMM, and the best I got was a 4"-5"plate. Next, maybe the shooter, so I had my buddy shoot the rifle (bullseye shooter), still 4"-5" plate (this guy can shoot 2"-3" groupings using iron sights on a FAL). Maybe the gun? Used Burris Fastfire to get 3" groupings. Well I did what I should have done first. Tried a different scope with everything else same.

1" groupings.

Add insult to the injury, the windage knob came off. Called Sightron, told me to mail it in. That was a week ago, no indication they got the scope.
Anyone else deal with sightron scopes?
samginko

Re: Crappy Sightron Scopes

Postby macphisto on Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:35 pm

I think I remember mmcnx2 speaking favorably about them. Maybe you just got a lemon. I hope they take care of you.
macphisto

Postby RAGGED on Wed Aug 24, 2011 4:50 pm

macphisto wrote:I think I remember mmcnx2 speaking favorably about them. Maybe you just got a lemon. I hope they take care of you.

They are known for being very good for the money, many guys that don't want to throw down Nightforce money will run them, most seem to like them.
RAGGED

Postby DeanC on Wed Aug 24, 2011 7:38 pm

Haven't heard anything bad til now. Keep us posted.
Decrypt the points of departure and return your head slowly and you do not cancel your hair.
DeanC

Postby samginko on Wed Aug 24, 2011 7:39 pm

Thanks for the input, I honestly feel better.
samginko

Postby mmcnx2 on Thu Aug 25, 2011 7:44 pm