New to guns - Advice on AR's

Discussion of rifles, shotguns, and muzzleloaders

Postby Sledaddict82 on Wed Oct 12, 2011 9:03 pm

I'm pretty new to firearms, I have a few but don't know TOO much about them. I'm thinking about getting an AR sometime between now and Spring.
I was looking for some advice on them, I know theres a billion options on what parts/accessories to get and brands and too much to even talk about.
I want one for simple shooting, long range target shots 200yds+, and maybe hunting in the future (I am not a hunter but am considering it)

What is the best brand?
What's a good price on a complete gun (minus accessories)
Does anyone shoot 7.62x39 AR's?
.223/5.56mm/7.62x39?? What's the best?
I would be willing to spend $1000 tops for a good gun
What's with everyone talking about different lowers/uppers/barrels etc.??

Basically I'm a newby and I want an AR but have no idea where to even start because there's so many options

Thanks in advance

Nick
Nick

"Gun control is like trying to reduce drunk driving by making it tougher for sober people to own cars."

”I have a very strict gun control policy: if there’s a gun around, I want to be in control of it.”
~Clint Eastwood
Sledaddict82

Re: New to guns - Advice on AR's

Postby shooter115 on Wed Oct 12, 2011 9:44 pm

Welcome Nick.....That's quite the bag of questions. Personally I'm a huge fan of the AR platform and own......let's say a couple ;)

What is the best brand? For the price range your looking at and what you want to do I'n going to say go with a DPMS. There are better out there, but you will pay for it. If you are somewhat mechanicly inclined you could build one from a kit with an assembled upper. Check out Palmetto State Armory

What's a good price on a complete gun (minus accessories).....You should be able to find yourself a decent mid level AR for around $8-900. Just don't forget about buying a GOOD scope and mount, but thats a whole nother thread for you.