1911 detail stripping

Discussion of handguns

1911 detail stripping

Postby Stradawhovious on Mon Mar 03, 2008 3:20 pm

Allright............ Here's where you all find out what a 1911 rookie I am. I am new to the 1911 world, understand how they work, (point, click, bang) and know how to field strip and clean and etc. The problem I have is detail stripping the firearm. The slide is no problem, the rest I'm a little lost on. Could I bribe any of you minneapolisites (probably with a beer or two) to walk me through a detail strip so when the time comes (and it will not be long 8-) ) to swap out parts and dress it up a little bit with new trigger, grip safety, sear etc. I know what the h*ll I'm doing? :oops:
If you're reading this, there are better than even odds you are a d-bag.
Stradawhovious

Re: 1911 detail stripping

Postby cobb on Mon Mar 03, 2008 4:21 pm

Sure, I could, but I am in Mankato.

Maybe this will help.

http://www.m1911.org/full_striping.htm

Click on link and then the picture, it will bring up more pictures and instructions. Scroll down to the bottom and there are some more instructions and even some videos.
“Nothing in life is so exhilarating as to be shot at without result”. - Winston Churchill

RIVER VALLEY TRAINING
MN. DPS/BCA approved training organization.

http://www.RiverValleyTraining.com
cobb

Postby Stradawhovious on Mon Mar 03, 2008 4:30 pm

Now that's more like it! I found a few sites that were fairly vague, but this, my friend, is exactly what the doctor ordered!

Stradawhovious

Postby cobb on Mon Mar 03, 2008 4:40 pm

Stradawhovious wrote:Now that's more like it! I found a few sites that were fairly vague, but this, my friend, is exactly what the doctor ordered!

Ya, me too, I like pictures. :lol:

So does that mean the bribe of a beer or two is off?
Oh, oh, I may hear about this from some minneapolisites...... :wack:
“Nothing in life is so exhilarating as to be shot at without result”. - Winston Churchill

RIVER VALLEY TRAINING

cobb