Friend looking for a HD gun/first gun

Discussion of handguns

Postby yukonjasper on Sun Jul 05, 2020 7:14 pm

I have a good friend who lives in South Minneapolis who wants to purchase a nightstand gun. He has never owned a gun and I'm not sure whether he has shot one. He has come to me for guidance. Flattering, but I'm no expert. My advice was to come to the gun range to shoot some of my collection to see what he likes. I plan to spend some time with him before we go to talk range safety and gun handling. He seems adamant about a handgun, but I'm also going to encourage him to try a shot gun.

Should I urge him to take an NRA first time shooter class somewhere? I am fairly confident in my ability to be safe but it's different to assume someone else will be. Should I inform the RO so he can take extra time to do his spiel?
Deo Adjuvante Non Timendum - (with the help of God there is nothing to be afraid of)
Spectamur Agendo - (We are proven by our actions)
Non Ducor, Duco - (I am not led, I lead)
NRA Life Member
yukonjasper

Re: Friend looking for a HD gun/first gun

Postby crbutler on Sun Jul 05, 2020 8:00 pm

An NRA class isn’t a bad idea, nor is the MN hunter safety course.

Taking the CC course also isn’t a bad idea if he’s getting this for home defense- non gun people have a lot of strange ideas as to what is legal for self defense- just because you take the class doesn’t mean you have to get the permit.
crbutler

Postby goalie on Sun Jul 05, 2020 8:00 pm

I take new shooters to the range all the time. I prefer outdoors, but Stock and Barrel is a great atmosphere if you have to pay and go inside.

Had a friend's son go from a .22lr SP101 to an AR pistol and golf ball grenade launcher today. 1 on 1 time, and space, so they're comfortable and not embarrassed is a good idea.

Maybe a dumb question, but where is he going to get a handgun or shotgun? He missed the salad days by less than six months.....

Sent from my Moto G (5) Plus using Tapatalk